Don’t know what to do with all those wasted yarn scraps?

“My yarn scrap jars :)”image

It seemed like such a waste to throw away all those little ends of yarn that get cut off after finishing a knit or crochet piece. Some are long enough to save and make a multi-colored yarn ball for a scraps bag, but I am not talking about those. I mean the itty bitty scraps. So I use a pretty jar that came with chocolate covered pecans inside. It got full so I started to use an empty salsa jar as well. They provide a cute decoration for my craft area as well as many good uses. Making a hat with little ears that need a bit of stuffing? Use a handfull of yarn scraps! Making a catnip pillow toy for your cat? Mix up some scraps of yarn and some catnip and stuff it on I there! They even came in handy in my daughter’s science class last year. The teacher requested yarn scraps so they could make 3-D pictures of cells. So don’t throw out those ends, find a pretty jar and save ’em for a rainy day! πŸ™‚

Image

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Spijder
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 15:13:14

    This is a great idea! I have been throwing those away for years but from now on I am going to borrow your brainstorm.

    Reply

  2. buttontins
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 15:16:26

    You can also leave them outside for birds to use in their nests πŸ™‚ I look forward to the day when I see a net with coloured wool between the twigs!

    Reply

  3. agujasblog
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 15:48:20

    I just washed out a nice lidded jar that came with a candle that we used up. I think I will use it for my yarn scraps!

    Reply

  4. threejqdesigns
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 18:57:29

    Yay! I am so glad I could inspire you guys! πŸ™‚
    And that really would be a cute sight! Little yarny bird nests!! πŸ˜€

    Thanks so much for commenting!! Don’t forget to follow my blog so you’ll be updated with any other handy ideas I may think of! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. catzikay
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 20:51:07

    This is so cute! Can’t wait to try it! =)

    Reply

  6. Hannah Ackroyd
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 03:37:11

    Oooh what a brilliant idea! I was looking online for an idea of how to use the scraps because it feels so wasteful throwing them away! I will definitely be keeping them from now on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

