Sharpie Mugs!

image

I have looked over many blogs about this and received tips from fans of “Tara Creates” my craft community page on Facebook. So with very little planning and next to no supplies, I decided to give it a go πŸ˜‰ Here’s to hoping this works out, otherwise, all I have for hubby’s Vday gift is a tube of green apple chapstick. Lol.

Materials: 1 ceramic mug that I got from Walmart for $1.75 yesterday
1 black Sharpie paint marker that to my horror, I located in my daughter’s jacket pocket the other day (I thought it was gone forever)
1 red regular Sharpie marker (because the only other Paint one I have is neon green)
A bit of tape
A piece of notebook paper

What I did: Preheated the oven to 350 degrees. At the last minute, I finally decided what I would write on the mug.. a fragment of a Pink Floyd song “…swimming in a fishbowl, year after year.” I cut a strip of notebook paper and made sure it would fit on the area intended for the quote. I wrote the quote on the paper using the red sharpie, because I was unsure if there would be enough in the paint one after my daughter had hijacked it. I taped the paper to the top of the cup directly above the area for the intended lettering. Then I used the paint marker and wrote the quote. Next, I practiced the fish and hearts a few times on paper before adding them. Lastly, I freehanded a little note opposite the fish then stuck the cup in the oven on a baking sheet and set the timer for 30 minutes. Subsequently, the timer just dinged! Now I will open the oven and let it cool until all the heat is out.. hopefully before hubby gets home from work it will be cool enough to close so he doesn’t look in there and see it before tomorrow! πŸ™‚ I can’t think of anywhere else to let it cool, and I don’t need the oven tonight, so fingers crossed, this should work! Lol πŸ™‚

**UPDATE**
After 3 days of use and handwashing, the lettering has a bit of scratching. I am so disappointed!! I will continue to search for an easy way to decorate mugs, because I had all sorts of future plans for this project! Keep an eye out for my progress… :D”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 16:32:22

    Oh how fun! I really need to try this! So the Sharpie “paint” markers are different right? I will have to go look for those. I hope the hubby loves his mug !

    Reply

    • threejqdesigns
      Feb 13, 2013 @ 17:01:35

      Yep! The Paint ones are oil based paint pens. πŸ™‚ They have them at Joann in the paint section, and at my local store, they also have some on the front counter, but be sure to take 50% off coupons, because they are a little pricey compared to a regular sharpie. I can’t remember how much, but I think I would have paid around $7 for 2 of them if I didn’t have a coupon. I hope he likes it too πŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

